Saudi Ministry of Tourism suspends tourism visa to seven countries at virus risk

The Ministry of Tourism, in coordination with relevant health authorities in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, has announced the following regulations: Temporary suspension on issuing tourism visas to tourists from countries with significant coronavirus risk areas: China, Italy, Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, and Kazakhstan; Temporary suspension on processing tourism visas previously issued to the citizens from the above-mentioned countries; Temporary suspension on issuing or processing tourism visas for anyone who have visited high risk areas within the past 14 days; Continued issuing of electronic and on arrival tourist visas for citizens from other permitted countries; Tourism visa holders will not be permitted to visit Makkah and Al Madina.

The Ministry of Tourism stated that such measures are taken to provide the utmost protection to citizens, residents and tourists visiting Saudi Arabia. This is in line with the recommendations of relevant health authorities concerned with applying the highest precautionary standards, and taking proactive preventive measures to avoid the entrance and spread of the new coronavirus (COVID-19) in Saudi Arabia. The Ministry of Tourism announced that these measures are temporary and are being constantly monitored by relevant authorities.